Laura Garcia

Early Learning Specialist

Laura Garcia

Laura joined the GUH team in mid-September 2020. She’s a ParentChild+ and early learning specialist in Faribault.

Where did you grow up, and how long have you lived in Faribault?

I was born in Texas and lived there until I was 10. Then we moved to Minnesota, and I lived in Waseca. We moved to Faribault when I was 17, and I’ve been here about 14 years.

What is your educational and/or work background?

For the past 10 years or more I’ve worked with children, at the early childhood center and the Head Start program. I’ve worked as an aide, an assistant teacher, and a teacher.

Why did you take this job with GUH?

I really enjoy working with children and their families. It’s a good feeling to be able to help people who need help, and to help the children grow and learn new things.

What are your main job responsibilities?

I’m responsible for recruiting children from ages 16 months to 3 years old. I work with the children and their families, and make videos of certain activities and send them to the parents. I would be going to their homes, but we’re not currently doing home visits because of COVID. After I send a video of me doing an activity, I’ll follow up with a phone call to see if the children liked it, and how I could change it. I also help parents connect to resources in Rice County.

What do you like most about the job?

I like that I’m able to work from home, especially because my kids are doing distance learning and they’re at home. 

What’s the most challenging part of your job? 

Building relationships with families during COVID-19. When you meet them in person, you gain their trust more, and make more of a connection, than you do through social media, messaging and phone calls, when you can’t put a face to a name.

What are your hopes and dreams for the community where you work?

I hope to learn more about all the resources available here to help families, and help them reach their goals and needs.

What do you do for fun?

I enjoy spending time with my family. I like to do a lot of outdoor things. I enjoy nature and walks.