Brian Kopack

Mobile Home Rehabilitation Coordinator

Brian Kopack

Brian joined the Growing Up Healthy staff in May 2022. He’s the mobile home rehabilitation coordinator in Faribault and Northfield.

Where did you grow up, and how long have you lived in Rice County area?

I grew up near Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and I moved up to the north woods of Wisconsin when I was in high school. I moved to Minnesota 15 years ago and have lived in Northfield for the past nine years.

What is your educational and/or work background?

I took classes at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee for college and later got a degree in culinary arts, and I’m now a certified home inspector. I’ve changed directions a few times.

Why did you take this job with GUH?

I thought it would be a great opportunity to assist the community in a positive way. This job is going to be a culmination of what I’ve been doing for the last seven to 10 years. I’ve been the point-of-sale inspector of mobile homes for the City of Faribault for the past two years. I spent two years running Thursday’s Table for the Community Action Center of Northfield (before COVID), and I’ve been involved in programs similar to this on a different level, coordinating volunteers.

What are your main job responsibilities?

Helping families fix their mobile homes and keeping those homes maintained and livable.

What do you like most about the job?

Definitely interacting with a wide variety of people. There are so many great community members here – volunteers and residents. I love meeting people from all walks of life.

What’s the most challenging part of your job?

Getting the proper assistance and support to the residents in a timely manner to minimize the stresses that come from home repairs.

What are your hopes and dreams for the community where you work?

That everyone is allowed a fair chance at a happy life; to see everybody get treated as equals. That’s my number one hope.

What do you do for fun?

Camping and fishing are my two favorites. We have a 28-foot camper, and I love getting out and fishing with my boys (ages 10 and 7).